© 2022 Maine Public
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

3 Maine Counties 'Yellow' In State's Color-Coded COVID-19 Risk System

Three counties in Maine continue to have “elevated risk” of COVID-19 spread, and two other counties are being closely watched, as part of the state’s risk assessment system for schools.

On Friday, the Maine Department of Education released the latest update to its color-coded system for advising schools on their relative risk of the virus. York, Androscoggin and Oxford counties continue to be designated “yellow,” meaning schools should consider precautions such as limiting class sizes and suspending afterschool activities.

The rest of Maine has been labeled “green,” though state officials they’re closely monitoring Cumberland and Kennebec counties. Both have seen increased case and positivity rates over the past week.

Despite several outbreaks connected to schools, public officials continue to say that schools are relatively safe and have limited evidence of virus transmission.