© 2021 Maine Public
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Gov. LePage Swears in Constitutional Officers

AUGUSTA, Maine - Maine's attorney general, secretary of state and new state treasurer have been sworn into office.

Terry Hayes became the first independent to serve as Maine's treasurer on Thursday after Republican Gov. Paul LePage administered the oath of office. The former Democratic lawmaker left her party and worked for independent Eliot Cutler's gubernatorial campaign last year.

Attorney General Janet Mills, a Democrat, was also sworn in for a third term. She has clashed frequently with LePage since she was re-elected to the post in 2012, but said Thursday that she and the governor also have much in common.

Democrat Matthew Dunlap will also serve another term as Maine's secretary of state. He served six years as secretary before being ousted by Republicans in 2010 and was re-elected in 2012.