constitutional officers

The debate over how Maine chooses its constitutional officers.

Guest: Professor Jim Melcher, Professor of Political Science, UMaine at Farmington
  State Senator Andre Cushing (R-Hampden)

AUGUSTA, Maine - For decades, the Maine Legislature has considered - and rejected - attempts to change the way certain key positions in state government are filled - specifically, the attorney general, secretary of state and state treasurer.

AUGUSTA, Maine - Maine's attorney general, secretary of state and new state treasurer have been sworn into office.

Terry Hayes became the first independent to serve as Maine's treasurer on Thursday after Republican Gov. Paul LePage administered the oath of office. The former Democratic lawmaker left her party and worked for independent Eliot Cutler's gubernatorial campaign last year.

AUGUSTA, Maine - Democratic and Republican contenders for Maine's three so-called "constitutional officer" positions met with new Maine lawmakers today in an effort to win their  bids for the posts of attorney general, secretary of state and treasurer.

AUGUSTA, Maine - Republicans in the Maine Legislature today nominated a Democrat and two Republicans to fill the state's so-called "constitutional officer" posts, which include attorney general, secretary of state and state treasurer. Those who hold those offices are elected by lawmakers.

GOP leaders say during a joint caucus of House and Senate Republicans, William Logan was nominated to serve as attorney general. Logan is an attorney with the firm Irwin, Tardy & Morris, and has represented the Republican Party on several matters.