© 2021 Maine Public
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Maine Senate Republican Caucus Selects Its Leaders

The 14-member Senate Republican caucus has elected Sen. Dana Dow of Waldoboro as its leader and Sen. Jeff Timberlake of Turner as assistant leader. Dow was co-chair of the Taxation Committee that worked out a bipartisan tax conformity bill earlier this year.

“We got a unanimous vote in the Senate and in the House, and I am very proud of that fact, and that’s why I think that was one of the reasons I was chosen, leader because I work well across the aisle,” Dow said.

Timberlake has served on the Budget Writing Appropriations Committee , which also requires compromise. He says he has also brokered agreements on several bills before the Agriculture Committee.